h1

Fire Up Some Dessert

November 19, 2009

We’re having some beautiful mid-November weather here in the Northeast this week, which makes me feel like firing up the grill one last time before it gets too chilly (presumably).

Ah, the grill.  It was my conduit into becoming passionate about cooking.  Until my in-laws graciously gifted me with one 6 or 7 years ago, my wife and I ate pasta 3 times a week, we went out a couple of nights, and maybe baked some chicken or ate canned soup.  But getting that grill opened up a new world for me – not only could I now make great burgers and chicken and steak, but I realized I could grill vegetables, bread, pretty much anything.  And that then led to me wanting to use the kitchen appliances more creatively – I began to plan a wide variety of dinners, and once I realized I could make good food, my love of cooking erupted like a molten chocolate lava cake.

Mmmm…molten chocolate lava cake.  Ok, now I want dessert.  How about a grilled dessert?  Yes, good idea!  Grilling angel food cake makes the sugars in the cake caramelize, becoming nice and crunchy on the outside while leaving the middle soft and fluffy.  This is ultra-simple, and ultra-yummy.  Enjoy!

Eric’s Hell-Fired Angel Food Cake Supreme

4 thick slices angel food cake

Chocolate syrup

Vanilla ice cream

Fresh strawberries, sliced (or other fresh fruit like bananas, blueberries, raspberries, etc.)

Heat grill on medium-high.  When heated, place angel food cake slices directly over heat.  Grill approx. 3 minutes per side, or until lightly browned.  Transfer cake to plates, top with a scoop of ice cream, drizzle with chocolate syrup, and top with berries.  Eat!

Leave a Reply

