h1

Sinfully Delicious

November 30, 2009

I love it when I come across a recipe that you don’t see in restaurants, but is an authentic dish from its place of origin.  Have you ever seen “uova in purgatorio” in an Italian restaurant?  Not me.  It’s Italian for “eggs in purgatory,” and apparently it’s a common dish in the boot-shaped country.  When you make it, it will make sense, visually speaking.  The first time I read this recipe I said, “Huh?”  But after making it, I said, “Mmmm.”  I hope you will too.  Serve it with a Caesar salad and some garlic bread, and you’ve got a sinfully delicious meal.  Enjoy!

Uova in Purgatorio (Eggs in Purgatory)

(serves 2 as a main course)

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 cup canned tomato puree

2 or 3 fresh basil leaves, torn into pieces

Pinch of oregano

Salt and pepper to taste

4 large eggs

Grated parmesan cheese

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Cook garlic until golden, about 2 minutes.  Add tomatoes, basil, oregano, salt and pepper.  Simmer for 15 minutes, or until sauce thickens.  Break an egg into a small cup.  With the back of a spoon, make a well in the tomato sauce.  Slide the egg into the sauce.  Repeat with the other 3 eggs.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Cover and cook 3 to 5 minutes, depending on how runny you like your eggs.  Remove eggs, plate, and cover with sauce.  Eat!

Leave a comment