h1

Soup For One

December 17, 2009

As much as I have become enamored with and passionate about cooking over the last 8 years or so, I think I can credit a great percentage of that – if not 100% – to the fact that I have had someone else with whom to share my culinary creations.  And I don’t mean that in a sappy, lovey-dovey way.  I mean that on the occasion when I have found myself alone for a dinner, for whatever reason, my desire to really cook greatly diminishes.  I’m not in the mood to be creative and make a somewhat elaborate recipe, like I do most nights for my family, when I’m the only one eating it.  I much prefer something that just needs to be nuke-rowaved, or takes very little effort to produce (i.e. something pre-made at a store).  This of course is a much less healthy and fiscally responsible way to eat, but I guess I feel that cooking a righteous meal just for myself isn’t worth the time and effort.

The reason I bring this up is that for the next 4 nights, I am a childless bachelor, and I have no idea what I’m going to do about dinner.  I know one night some friends and I are getting “guy” food (pizza, wings, beer – all 4 food groups, of course).  But I’d rather avoid getting prefab food the other nights.

So for you readers who live alone, or find themselves alone at dinner time on occasion, what do you like to make?

3 comments

  1. It’s called SALAD and can be made with lots of different inexpensive healthy ingredients and added proteins. : )


    • Yes, awesome suggestion. Thank you, loyal reader!


  2. Handfuls of cereal, eaten standing up while reading the mail.



Leave a Reply

