h1

A Sandwich You Can Count On

January 19, 2010

I surprised myself last night by making something for dinner that I hadn’t planned on – Monte Cristo sandwiches (“count,” get it?  Ha.)  Even more surprising is that this is one of my favorite foods, and I had never made it before.  I don’t know why – I guess it always seemed like one of those dishes you order in a restaurant, but don’t make at home.  But now I know I was wrong – very wrong – not to have tried this in my own kitchen.  I found a recipe that bakes the sandwiches, rather than frying them, so it’s not all that unhealthy, and it’s very delicious.  I used challah bread – you want a thicker kind so it won’t fall apart after soaking up the egg batter.  Use what you’d use for French toast.  Enjoy!

Baked Monte Cristo Sandwiches (from recipezaar.com)

(makes 4 sandwiches)

  • 8 slices bread

  • 8 slices thin deli sliced Swiss cheese

  • 8 slices thin sliced ham

  • 8 slices thin sliced turkey

  • 3 eggs

  • 2 tablespoons flour

  • 1 tablespoon melted butter

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

  • 2 tablespoons milk

  • powdered sugar, for dusting

  • raspberry preserves, maple syrup and mustard, for dipping

Heat oven to 425°F.  Lightly butter a baking sheet pan.  Between two slices of bread, layer 1 slice cheese, 2 slices ham, 2 slices turkey, and another slice of cheese.  Repeat to make four sandwiches. Whisk eggs, flour, butter, salt and pepper in a shallow dish until smooth.  Blend in milk.  Dip both sides of sandwiches into egg mixture until bread is lightly soaked.  Place on baking sheet; drizzle any remaining egg mixture over top of sandwiches.  Bake 7-8 minutes until bottom is golden brown.  Turn with wide spatula and continue baking 6-7 minutes or until second side is golden brown.  Cut sandwiches in half on the diagonal, dust with powdered sugar.  Serve warm with preserves, syrup and mustard for dipping.  Eat!

2 comments

  1. Seriously? I assumed these were fried. That makes last night’s dinner even better!


  2. Yum!



Leave a Reply

