h1

Yum-O

January 29, 2010

When my love affair with cooking began, it was around the same time I was beginning another love affair with a certain cooking show host on the Food Network.  This young lady was undeniably cute; she had a girl-next-door personality and could effortlessly make easy, quick meals.  Her name was (and still is) Rachael Ray – but our affair ended abruptly when she suddenly vaulted into the realm of superstardom, began to cake on the makeup and lost her innocence.  She became overexposed to the point of sheer annoyance, and now I can’t stand to watch her.  But for those brief fleeting moments many years ago I am grateful, as she helped me develop my fondness for cooking.  And for a while I thought her recipes were great, but as my palette really widened, I stopped making her recipes in favor of more complex and involved cuisine.  She did have a few that are still in my repertoire, including this versatile recipe.  It can be served just as a side dish, but is also great tossed with pasta, as a topping for garlic bread, or as part of a chicken casserole.  I cook the tomatoes a bit longer, as I prefer them a little mushier than firm.  Enjoy!

Rachael Ray’s Warm Cherry Tomato Salad

(makes 6 side servings)

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped

  • 2 pints cherry tomatoes, rinsed and stems removed

  • 6 scallions, sliced on an angle

  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

  • Salt and pepper

  • ½ cup coarsely chopped flat-leaf parsley

Heat a medium skillet over medium high heat. Add oil and garlic and cook 2 minutes. Add tomatoes and scallions and cook until tomato skins begin to burst, about 5 minutes or so. Add vinegar and remove from heat. Add salt and pepper and parsley. Toss and serve.  Eat!

Leave a Reply

