h1

The Peanut Butter Post

March 26, 2010

It’s Friday, and my head is already focusing on Saturday, so that may explain the somewhat silly nature of today’s post.  I thought of the 5 ways I enjoy a staple of American cuisine, peanut butter.  Some of them might make sense to you, and some might not…but remember, we like to keep an open mind here at the Mouse House Kitchen, lest we forget the lessons learned from that culinary Bible of sorts, Green Eggs and Ham. So here they are:

1.  Peanut butter and jelly:  ok, no surprises here.  But I do have a particular penchant for grape jelly; I’m not a big fan of the other fruit flavors.  Fascinating, I know.

2.  Peanut butter and banana:  a winning combination for sure.  It does surprise me how many people I’ve come across who haven’t heard of this sandwich before.  I don’t fry it in butter like a certain rotund pop star from Mississippi was prone to do.  I prefer chunky peanut butter with this one for a nice texture contrast.

3.  Peanut butter and pickles:  ah, now we’re getting into the realm of the strange.  I was introduced to this marvelous pairing at summer camp during my teen years – someone who had some peanut butter and some pickle spears made a few sandwiches and asked if I wanted one.  Hesitantly I tried it, and it was a beautiful thing.  The crispness and saltiness of the pickle played perfectly off the sweet smoothness of the peanut butter.  I have endured plenty of “What are you, pregnant?” taunts as a result of my zeal for this sandwich, but it’s been worth it.

4.  Peanut butter and bacon:  there are those who will argue that bacon makes anything better, so maybe this combination isn’t as much of a stretch, but it’s still a bit odd.  Like the pickle, the bacon adds a nice crunch and saltiness that again, contrasts nicely with the peanut butter.  And if you use fresh, hot bacon, it melts the peanut butter just a little, goo-ifying it just right….yes, goo-ify – it’s a culinary term…probably.

5.  Peanut butter and hamburger:  I remember exactly where I was the first time my taste buds came across this classic.  I was probably around 10 years old; I was at my friend Adam’s house for dinner, and burgers were on the menu.  “Want some peanut butter on yours?” he asked me.  I’m sure I shot him a look that said, “Are you drunk?”  But my parents always taught me to try things before deciding I didn’t like them, so try it I did…and it was good!  You can see a trend here with the burger, pickles and bacon:  savory and salty partners quite well with sweet and creamy.  Now I would not recommend topping your peanut butter burger with the usual lettuce, onions, tomato, etc…but then again, maybe that would work!

So that’s my “Peanut Butter 5 Ways” list.  Anything you’d like to add?  Let us know!  Enjoy.

6 comments

  1. PB and chocolate candy. PB and apple slices (green are best.


    • I love PB and apples too…you know what I haven’t tried – a peanut butter and apple sandwich! That would probably be awesome.


  2. I guess the old ants on a log is a cliche by now, but fun and healthy-celery with peanut butter and raisins. Also pretzels dipped in pb or topped on apple pie. We all love the pb, b and j at our house.


    • Yes, PB and celery is the old standby…and PB and pretzels work quite well…hey, how about a PB, celery and crushed pretzel sandwich?


  3. How about trying a PB and potato chip (regular kind) on white bread sandwich? That’s my favorite but I haven’t had one in dozens of years for obvious reasons.


    • Oh, I completely left that one off the list – PB & jelly with potato chips! So good…but they have to be plain old potato chips, none of that fancy kettle-cooked or BBQ or anything.



Leave a Reply

