h1

“Standard”ized Testing #4

April 2, 2010

In a previous post, I imparted the tale of the Standard Restaurant here in Albany, and how after three tries and three disappointments, I was done.  Well fate has forced my mouth to consume one more meal from this eatery (it’s a work lunch that was delivered to the office).  I suppose I could have simply not ordered anything and brought my own, as usual, but a free lunch is a free lunch, and I came up with a different strategy this time:  I did not order anything that they had to cook.  Today I ate the same endive, pecan and blue cheese salad that I’ve gotten the last 2 times (it’s pretty good), and I also had the blackened ahi tuna sashimi (which is only seared, not cooked).  Did my strategy pay off and I actually enjoyed my meal, or did the trend of gastric disaster continue for a 4th time?

Well, it was…pretty good.  The flavor combination of the Cajun seasonings with the rare ahi didn’t work quite well, but good enough, especially compared to their other offerings.  And the salad was still good.  So this time I didn’t hate my meal, which is a big step up for the Standard.  But I won’t be going back…voluntarily, anyway.  The Mouse House Kitchen gives the Standard 1 out of 5 stars.

3 comments

  1. Interesting post. I have only been there a couple of times and had the same salad. It was excellent but it was a salad….and you can’t screw up edamame.


  2. Gotta agree with you! I’ve tried The Standard twice and both times left quite disappointed. (yep, I’m going through all of your restaurant reviews so I can make a list of where to go before we leave!)


    • I so wanted to like this place…I know others who love it, and one or two bad experiences I can deal with, but 4?? Unacceptable.



Leave a Reply

