h1

Slaw: Not Just for Cabbage

July 19, 2010

One of the more traditional ways to serve a pulled pork sandwich is to top it with cole slaw – the cool, fresh salad is a great compliment to the hot and savory pork.  This weekend I was contemplating with what to top the pulled pork sandwiches I was making, wanting something other than the normal cole slaw, any my mind turned to pork chops, which are often served with apple sauce.  So I thought perhaps using apples with a pulled pork sandwich was a good idea, and I was pretty much right.  I decided to make an apple slaw, and while the slaw itself is very tasty, it wasn’t a perfect match with the pork; I’m still trying to figure out why.  But the slaw is awesome – let me know what you serve it with.  Enjoy!

Zesty Apple Slaw

(serves 4)

2 granny smith apples, peeled and julienned

1-1/2 tbsp. lemon juice

1/3 cup mayonnaise

1/3 cup chopped scallions

2 tbsp. honey

1 tsp. mustard

1/2 tsp. allspice

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp. salt

Combine all ingredients in a bowl until well mixed.  Taste for seasoning.  Cover and refrigerate up to an hour.  Eat!

Leave a Reply

