h1

That Earl Was Really On To Something…

September 16, 2010

One of the most-often asked food questions I get is “What’s your favorite food?”  I never know how to answer that question.  There are certain foods that I really love, but I wouldn’t say they were my one-and-only favorite.  There are foods I wouldn’t want to live without, but I don’t know if I’d necessarily affix the label of “favorite” to any one of them.  But if I had to choose one particular food form, a specific way of creating and presenting a dish, I’d have to say that my “favorite” food is…the sandwich.

I know that may seem pedestrian and common.  “You mean you’d rather have a sandwich than Rick Bayless’ chicken mole or that Vietnamese grilled pork and spring rolls dish you’re always drooling over?”  I’m sure some of you are thinking just that, but that’s not what I mean.  Yes, if someone is holding a turkey sandwich in one hand and Bayless’ chicken in the other, I’d choose the chicken.  But the truth is also this:  a perfectly made sandwich brings me just as much joy as those other dishes.

So let’s talk about the sandwich.  I’ll just cut to the chase and tell you about my favorite sandwich of all time.  In my mind, it was perfected by a place called Sam’s To Go in Santa Barbara, and despite the numerous times I’ve tried to recreate it at home and ordered it in restaurants, Sam’s still does it the best (or did 13 years ago when I last ate there).  Here is the breakdown:

Bread – a freshly baked soft roll, 9 inches long, that is firm but not crunchy on the outside, and soft and chewy on the inside.

Meats – fresh roasted turkey, and bacon slices.

Veggies – shredded lettuce, sliced onions, pickles and pepperoncinis (or banana peppers).

Condiments – mayo and Dijon or spicy brown mustard.

That’s it.  Eating that sandwich (and its slightly less than perfect imitations) warms my culinary cockles and tantalizes my taste buds.  Is it my “favorite food?”  On some level, I guess it is. 

But now the MHK wants to know what your favorite sandwich consists of – the bread, the fillings and the condiments.  Give us your best one!

4 comments

  1. […] Mouse House Kitchen A bloggy for foodies. « That Earl Was Really On To Something… Recipe of the Week! September 17, 2010 We’re down to the wire this week, but we […]


  2. Slather the slices of bread with mashed avocado (instead of mayo), add hard boiled egg slices, tomato slices, cheddar cheese or jack (or any type of cheese),lettuce, and that’s it.


    • Sounds yummy, thanks!


  3. […] a previous post focusing on the genius of the sandwich, somehow we neglected to even give a casual mention to one of our all-time favorites, the Cuban […]



Leave a Reply

