h1

Decepcionante en Albany

August 3, 2011

I’ll translate for you gringos – the title means “Disappointed in Albany.” Several months ago a tiny Mexican market opened in our little town, much to the excitement of those of us enthralled with Mexican food. And the thing we were really looking forward to was the fresh burritos, tacos, etc. they make on the premises. I have visited the market a couple of times, but until last night, had not ordered any of the hot food. The market is, as I said, very small. But they have a ton of dried chiles, many of which I’d never heard of, along with lots of Mexican brands of foods, great corn tortillas, Mexican cheeses and sausages, canned foods, and drinks. But it was the hot food we were really looking forward to trying. They even have a nice menu to look at now, and so my mouth was watering as I tried to order some food last night. They have no space to eat at the market, so I was calling in an order to pick up. The phone was answered with an “Hola?” I said I wanted to order some food to pick up. The woman responded with some lightning-fast Spanish and hung up the phone. Not to be deterred, I then drove down to the market. The menu, and the sign on the door, said they were open until 10:30PM. But when I tried the door, it was locked, and no one was inside. Needless to say, immense disappointment set in. I really hope this was an anomaly and at some point we’ll be able to try the delicious-looking menu items; burritos, tacos, tamales, empanadas, and tortas, all stuffed with steak, chicken, carnitas, even tongue (very authentic). We’ll keep you posted. Try not to burst with anticipation.

5 comments

  1. Sounds great! Except for the tongue…. ewww… But I love Empanadas!! Better luck next time.


    • Hopefully! But don’t be too judgmental about tongue…millions of Mexicans can’t be wrong! 🙂


  2. For me it’s comforting to know that I can actually get something resembling tacos in Albany. I wish I could say they were good. Same goes for their burrito.

    I haven’t tried the tamales. They may be better. The torta could be passable too. But their carnitas is lacking.

    This is a place I really want to love. As you mentioned, their dried pepper selection is amazing. Maybe one day, I’ll be lucky enough to find some hot food there that I like.

    In the meantime, you may just want to pick up a Spanish-English dictionary, and practice ordering food to go. A little bit of effort goes a long way. And Spanish is a lot easier than Mandarin or Cantonese.


    • Yikes, not so good, eh? I’ll have to judge for myself. I actually do speak Spanish fairly well, but the lady who answered spoke so quickly and then just hung up! Next time I’ll just start with Spanish and see if I have better luck.


  3. […] Mouse House Kitchen A bloggy for foodies. « Decepcionante en Albany Who-catan? Yucatan! August 5, […]



Leave a Reply

