h1

Turkey Day Denouement

November 25, 2011

As we all bask in this day of consumerism gone mad, the topic of last night’s Thanksgiving meal is still on some of our brains. I heard from a few people today things like, “Oh I’m still so stuffed from last night!” or “I ate so much I couldn’t get up,” etc. This sentiment has been applied to my own experience many times, but surprisingly, never in regard to Thanksgiving. It got me thinking as to why I never stuff myself at this particular meal, and I think I know why: the food just isn’t so good that I feel I have to keep eating it. That’s not to say it’s bad – far from it. Last night’s turkey was moist and tender, the stuffing was aromatic and flavorful, the mushroom soup was terrific, the mashed potatoes were smooth and spicy (a nice twist), and the broccoli-cauliflower casserole was pretty tasty (well the cauliflower part anyway). But overall, it’s not the kind of food I want to gorge on. Of course the desserts were terrific – pumpkin pie, pecan pie, and chocolate pie – but since I hadn’t gone all gluttonous on the other food, I didn’t feel my seams bursting after dessert. I suppose it’s tradition that keeps us churning out the same meal every 4th Thursday in November, but for me, it’s not a meal that I’m truly thankful for. My ideal Thanksgiving meal? Well I suppose it would have to include some or all of the following foods – these are what I’m truly thankful for:

  • Carne asada tacos

  • Chicken tandoori

  • Shrimp tempura

  • Vietnamese pork and vermicelli

  • Jerk pork

  • Thai papaya salad

  • Onion rings

  • Hummus

  • Pickles

  • Chocolate ice cream

  • Chocolate mousse

 Now that’s a Thanksgiving meal! Hope yours was a good one, from all of us here at the MHK!

3 comments

  1. Funny, I was thinking the same thing last night while contemplating post-dessert ice cream.


  2. We made our first turkey ever and it came out perfect. Used Alton Brown’s recipe with 8 hour brine… whole 9 yards. But I agree with you. I’d take decent tacos over perfect turkey any day.


    • Brining and everything, eh? Nice. The first and only time I made turkey was when you visited for Thanksgiving our first year in Albany, and that turkey came out damn tasty. Not sure why or how though.



Leave a Reply

