h1

Salad Dressing Spontanaeity

January 7, 2012

During our sojourn on the west coast, I took it upon myself to help with Christmas dinner, in the form of making a salad dressing (big task, I know). My first instinct was to make a simple vinaigrette, but as I began rummaging through the MHK-in-law’s pantry, I just began throwing things into the food processor, tasting and adjusting as needed, until I was happy with the results. The most unusual ingredient? Bacon fat. Not much, just a little, but I think it worked – I had cooked some bacon to crumble into the salad anyway, so it’s not like I went out of my way to procure bacon fat. It added some salty, smoky flavor to the dressing, and it seemed to go over well. Enjoy!

The MHK’s Pantry Raid Salad Dressing

(makes approx. 1/2  cup)

1 tbsp. bacon fat (somewhat cooled from the pan)

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp.mayo

1 tbsp. white vinegar

1/2 tsp. oregano

1 tsp. Cajun seasoning

1 tbsp. grated parmesan cheese

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper

1 tsp. lemon juice

3 tbsp. olive oil

Add all ingredients except the oil to a food processor. Pulse to combine. Slowly add the oil while processor is running. Taste and adjust seasoning as needed. Eat! (On a salad).

Leave a Reply

